Bristol Area Library

New Search
Bibliography Information:
Collection: 7-day Books
Call Number: F
Author: Hegi, Ursula
Title: The patron saint of pregnant girls
Remainder of title: a novel
Summary, etc. note: "From beloved bestselling author Ursula Hegi, a new novel about three mothers, set on the shores of the Nordsee, perfect for fans of Water for Elephants and The Light Between Oceans. In the summer of 1878, the Ludwig Zirkus has come to the island Nordstrand in Germany. Big-bellied girls rush from St. Margaret's Home for Pregnant Girls, thrilled to see the parade and the show, followed by the Sisters who care for them. The Old Women and Men, competing to be crowned as the island's Oldest Person, watch, thinking they have seen it all. But after the show, a Hundred-Year Wave roars from the Nordsee and claims three young children. Three mothers are on the beach when it happens: Lotte, whose children are lost; Sabine, a Zirkus seamstress with her grown daughter; and Tilli, still just a child herself, who will give birth later that day at St. Margaret's. And all three will end up helping each other more than they ever could have anticipated. As full of joy and beauty as it is of pain, and told with the luminous power that has made Ursula Hegi a beloved bestselling author for decades, The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls is a shattering portrait of marriage and motherhood, and of the ways in which women hold each other up in the face of heartbreak"--

International Standard Book Number: 9781250156822
: (hardcover)
: (ebook)
Canceled/invalid ISBN: 9781250156815
Description conventions: rda
Authentication code: pcc
Classification number: PS3558.E4185
Item number: P38 2020
Edition number: 23
Classification number: 813/.54
Relator term: author.
Statement of responsibility, etc.: Ursula Hegi.
Edition statement: First edition.
Projected publication date: 2006
: New York :
: Flatiron Books,
: 2020.
Extent: 274 pages
: rdacontent
: text
: txt
: rdamedia
: unmediated
: n
: rdacarrier
: volume
: nc
: Provided by publisher.
Source of acquisition: B & T 8/28/2020
Purchase price: 26.99
Subject: Mother's
Subject: Germany
Genre/form data or focus term: Domestic fiction.
: Acquire
: 1 shelf copy
: policy default
: xk15 2019-10-04 (telework)
: xk15 2019-10-04 (telework) to CIP

Bibliography Copy Information:

Barcode # Description Status Status Dt Due Back
51361 checked in 2021-02-24 16:09:46