Bristol Area Library

New Search
Bibliography Information:
Collection: 7-day Books
Call Number: F
Author: Hawkins, Rachel
Title: The wife upstairs
Remainder of title: a novel
Summary, etc. note: "A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, Rachel Hawkins's The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda. Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates--a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name. But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates' most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can't help but see an opportunity in Eddie--not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she's always yearned for. Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie's heart before her past--or his--catches up to her? With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won't stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature's most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?"--

International Standard Book Number: 9781250245496
: (hardcover)
: (ebook)
Canceled/invalid ISBN: 9781250276100
Canceled/invalid ISBN: 9781250245519
Description conventions: rda
Authentication code: pcc
Classification number: PS3608.A893463
Item number: W54 2021
Edition number: 23
Classification number: 813/.6
Dates associated with a name: 1979-
Relator term: author.
Statement of responsibility, etc.: Rachel Hawkins.
Edition statement: First edition.
Place of publication: New York ,NY
Name of publisher: St Martins Press
Date of publication: 2020
Projected publication date: 2101
: New York :
: St. Martin's Press,
: 2021.
Extent: 290 pages
: rdacontent
: text
: txt
: rdamedia
: unmediated
: n
: rdacarrier
: volume
: nc
: Provided by publisher.
Source of acquisition: B&T 10/1/21
Purchase price: 27.99
Subject: Forbidden Romance
Subject: ill advised attraction
Subject: Thriller
Source of term: gsafd
Genre/form data or focus term: Love stories.
: acquire
: 1 shelf copy
: policy default
: xk34 2020-08-03
: xk34 2020-08-03 (TW Situational) to CIP

Bibliography Copy Information:

Barcode # Description Status Status Dt Due Back
52223 checked in 2021-11-22 09:33:02