Bristol Area Library

New Search
Bibliography Information:
Collection: 7-day Books
Call Number: 577.3 Rawlence
Author: Rawlence, Ben,
Title: The treeline :
Remainder of title: the last forest and the future of life on earth /
Summary, etc. note: "In the tradition of Elizabeth Kolbert and Barry Lopez, a powerful, poetic and deeply absorbing account of the "lung" at the top of the world. For the last fifty years, the trees of the boreal forest have been moving north. Ben Rawlence's The Treeline takes us along this critical frontier of our warming planet from Norway to Siberia, Alaska to Greenland, to meet the scientists, residents and trees confronting huge geological changes. Only the hardest species survive at these latitudes including the ice-loving Dahurian larch of Siberia, the antiseptic Spruce that purifies our atmosphere, the Downy birch conquering Scandinavia, the healing Balsam poplar that Native Americans use as a cure-all and the noble Scots Pine that lives longer when surrounded by its family. It is a journey of wonder and awe at the incredible creativity and resilience of these species and the mysterious workings of the forest upon which we rely for the air we breathe. Blending reportage with the latest science, The Treeline is a story of what might soon be the last forest left and what that means for the future of all life on earth"--

International Standard Book Number: 9781250270238
: (ebook)
: (hardcover)
Canceled/invalid ISBN: 9781250270245
Description conventions: rda
Authentication code: pcc
Classification number: QK938.F6
Item number: R37 2022
Edition number: 23
Classification number: 577.3
Relator term: author.
Statement of responsibility, etc.: Ben Rawlence.
Edition statement: First edition.
Place of publication: New York, NY
Name of publisher: St. Martin's Press
Date of publication: 2022
Projected publication date: 2202
: New York :
: St. Martin's Press,
: 2022.
Extent: viii; 307 p.; 24 cm.
Other physical details: B/w ill.; map; Includes bibliograpical references; Index & tree glossary.
: rdacontent
: text
: txt
: rdamedia
: unmediated
: n
: rdacarrier
: volume
: nc
Bibliography, etc. note: Includes bibliographical references and index.
: Provided by publisher.
Source of acquisition: B & T 06/10/2022
Purchase price: $ 29.99
Subject: Timberline.
Subject: Climatic changes.
Subject: Trees
Subject: Biogeography
Subject: Trees
General subdivision: Climatic factors.
General subdivision: Climatic factors.
General subdivision: Ecophysiology.
: acquire
: 1 shelf copy
: policy default
: rl12 2021-09-22
: rl12 2021-09-23 (telework)
: rl12 2021-09-23 to Dewey for rev
: xm08 2021-09-24 checked
: 2021-09-23
: BibframePilot2
: rl12 2021-09-23

Bibliography Copy Information:

Barcode # Description Status Status Dt Due Back
52699 577.3 Rawlence checked in 2022-07-08 13:51:51