Bristol Area Library

New Search
Bibliography Information:
Collection: Good Reading
Call Number: F Hawkins
Author: Hawkins, Rachel,
Title: The Villa /
Summary, etc. note: "From New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins comes a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set at an Italian villa with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware. As kids, Emily and Chess were inseparable. But by their 30s, their bond has been strained by the demands of their adult lives. So when Chess suggests a girls trip to Italy, Emily jumps at the chance to reconnect with her best friend. Villa Aestas in Orvieto is a high-end holiday home now, but in 1974, it was known as Villa Rosato, and rented for the summer by a notorious rock star, Noel Gordon. In an attempt to reignite his creative spark, Noel invites up-and-coming musician, Pierce Sheldon to join him, as well as Pierce's girlfriend, Mari, and her stepsister, Lara. But he also sets in motion a chain of events that leads to Mari writing one of the greatest horror novels of all time, Lara composing a platinum album--and ends in Pierce's brutal murder. As Emily digs into the villa's complicated history, she begins to think there might be more to the story of that fateful summer in 1974. That perhaps Pierce's murder wasn't just a tale of sex, drugs, and rock & roll gone wrong, but that something more sinister might have occurred--and that there might be clues hidden in the now-iconic works that Mari and Lara left behind. Yet the closer that Emily gets to the truth, the more tension she feels developing between her and Chess. As secrets from the past come to light, equally dangerous betrayals from the present also emerge--and it begins to look like the villa will claim another victim before the summer ends. Inspired by Fleetwood Mac, the Manson murders, and the infamous summer Percy and Mary Shelley spent with Lord Byron at a Lake Geneva castle--the birthplace of Frankenstein--The Villa welcomes you into its deadly legacy"--

International Standard Book Number: 9781250280015
International Standard Book Number: 9781250287588
: (hardcover)
: (ebook)
Canceled/invalid ISBN: 9781250280022
Description conventions: rda
Authentication code: pcc
Classification number: PS3608.A893463
Item number: V55 2023
Edition number: 23/eng/20220831
Classification number: 813/.6
Dates associated with a name: 1979-
Relator term: author.
Statement of responsibility, etc.: Rachel Hawkins.
Edition statement: First Edition.
Place of publication: New York, NY
Name of publisher: St. Martin's Press
Projected publication date: 2301
: New York :
: St. Martin's Press,
: 2023.
Extent: 276 p.; 24 cm.
: rdacontent
: text
: txt
: rdamedia
: unmediated
: n
: rdacarrier
: volume
: nc
: Provided by publisher.
Source of acquisition: B & T 02/03/2023
Purchase price: $ 28.99
Subject: Female friendship-Fiction.
Subject: Vacationers-Orvieto (Italy)-Fiction.
Subject: Secrets-Fiction
Subject: Gothic suspense.
Source of term: lcgft
Genre/form data or focus term: Novels.
: acquire
: 1 shelf copy
: policy default
: HAND CARRY X COPIES/CIP COPY/LP COPY/ANY COPIES NEEDED FOR CONGRESSIONAL LOAN; DO NOT DISCARD; PLS CONTACT/scar, x7717 2023-01-17
: xk12 2022-08-31
: xk12 2022-08-31 (telework) to CIP

Bibliography Copy Information:

Barcode # Description Status Status Dt Due Back
53150 F Hawkins checked out 2024-07-15 15:15:12 2024-07-29